CEPC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CEPC Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • CEPC has two separate events: a 100-question, 90-minute written exam and a separate four-hour practical.
  • The written exam is delivered through the ACF Online Learning Center with an approved proctor present throughout.
  • Written retakes require a 14-day wait; a written pass is valid for two years, practical results for one year.
  • Listed certification fee is $250 member or $490 nonmember, and host fees are extra.

Why There Is No Fixed CEPC Exam Calendar

Candidates searching for "CEPC exam dates 2026" often expect a published list of national test days, the way some credentials post quarterly windows. For the Certified Executive Pastry Chef credential from the American Culinary Federation (ACF), that is not how the public program information is framed. The sources reviewed for this article describe a written examination delivered through the ACF Online Learning Center with an approved, present proctor, and a separate practical examination held at approved sites. They do not publish a statewide or national calendar of fixed testing windows, and this article will not invent one.

What that means in practice: your "exam date" is something you arrange, not something you wait for. The scheduling variables are the availability of an approved proctor for the written exam, the availability of an approved practical site and its host, and your own eligibility paperwork. Treat this guide as a map of those moving parts rather than a calendar of dates.

A note on freshness: The handbook details used here come from indexed official pages of the current-linked CEPC Candidate Handbook. The live PDF URL returned a 404 when checked, no 2026 handbook revision is claimed, and the handbook's revision date could not be established. Before you book anything, confirm current procedures directly with ACF.

The Two Parts You Must Schedule: Written and Practical

The ACF program requires both a written examination of knowledge and a separate practical demonstration. They are scheduled, proctored, scored and validated independently, so treat them as two projects on your calendar rather than one.

FeatureWritten ExamPractical Exam
Format100 multiple-choice questionsHands-on demonstration
Time allowed90 minutesFour hours
DeliveryACF Online Learning Center with an approved present proctorApproved practical sites
Passing standardConflicting sources: 72 (handbook) vs. 300 on a 200-400 scale (general ACF page)75% average
Retake wait14 daysNot specified in the facts reviewed here
Validity of a passTwo yearsOne year

The validity windows are the single most important scheduling constraint. A written pass lasts two years and a practical result lasts one year, so the order in which you take the two parts determines how much slack you have to complete the second. If you pass the practical first, you are on a one-year clock; if you pass the written first, you have two years. Plan the sequence deliberately rather than booking whichever opening appears first.

What Has to Be in Place Before You Can Schedule

You cannot simply pick a day and sit. Eligibility comes first, and the prerequisites take real calendar time to assemble. The published requirements include five relevant years of experience within the last ten, supervisory experience, an accepted education pathway, five 30-hour courses and any applicable refreshers. These are eligibility requirements, not exam durations or domain percentages, and they should not be confused with the exam content.

If you are still working through qualification, the lead time on coursework and documentation will likely be your real bottleneck, not the exam booking itself. Our CEPC requirements guide breaks down eligibility, prerequisites and how to qualify, and it is worth reading before you set any target date.

Prerequisite Timeline Items to Verify

Gather these before you attempt to schedule either exam part:

  • Documentation of five relevant years within the last ten, including supervisory experience
  • Your accepted education pathway
  • Completion records for the five 30-hour courses
  • Any applicable refresher requirements
  • Your ACF membership status, which affects the fee tier

Written Exam Logistics: Online Learning Center and Proctor

The written exam is delivered through the ACF Online Learning Center rather than through a third-party testing center. The indexed handbook pages describe an approved proctor who remains present for the session, plus a PIN used to access the exam. Older materials and the general ACF score page still carry references to a legacy testing provider, which is part of why candidates sometimes find outdated instructions online. For this credential, follow the current ACF program pages and your handbook rather than any legacy testing-provider references.

Because the proctor must be approved and physically present, your realistic scheduling task is coordinating with a qualified proctor, not finding an open seat in a testing lab. Start that conversation early, especially if you are balancing a production schedule or a seasonal rush.

Rules of the Room

  • You may use a pen, scratch paper and a basic non-programmable calculator.
  • Notes and outside help are prohibited.
  • The proctor stays present for the duration.

The calculator allowance is not incidental. The Baking Basics domain includes formulas and conversion factors and measurement tools, so you should expect math-flavored questions and practice them with the same type of basic calculator you will carry on exam day.

The 100-Question, 90-Minute Pace

One hundred multiple-choice questions in 90 minutes works out to a bit under a minute per question on average. That is manageable for questions you know cold and punishing for ones that require recalculating yield, scaling a formula or recalling a legal standard. The split between scored and unscored questions is not established in the sources reviewed, so do not assume every item counts, and do not assume any can be safely skipped. If you want a sense of how the difficulty feels in practice, see our CEPC difficulty guide.

Practical Exam Logistics: Approved Sites and Four Hours

The practical is a separate four-hour demonstration conducted at approved sites, and it carries its own host fees. Its evaluator rubric is distinct from the written blueprint. Safety and Sanitation is rated Acceptable/Unacceptable as a gating requirement, followed by Organizational Skills at 20%, Craftsmanship Skills at 40% and Finished Product Skills at 40%. Passing requires a 75% average.

Do not mix up the two scoring systems: The 20/40/40 practical weights describe how evaluators score your hands-on work. They are not the written exam's domain weights. The written exam uses six separate content domains weighted 10/10/20/25/10/25%.

Scheduling the practical means coordinating with an approved site and its host, and because host fees are charged separately from the certification fee, you should ask about them before you commit to a site. Since practical results stay valid for one year, avoid booking the practical until you have a realistic plan to complete the written exam inside that window.

Fees and How They Affect Your Timeline

The listed certification fee is $250 for ACF members and $490 for nonmembers. A separate notice states that the initial application includes one practical attempt. Host fees are extra, and the all-in total across written and practical remains unverified in the sources reviewed. Do not budget on the certification fee alone.

The fee tier connects directly to timing because membership status is something you can sort out in advance. If you are close to the application stage, confirming membership before you submit avoids paying the nonmember rate by default. For a deeper look at the numbers, our CEPC certification cost breakdown covers what is and is not confirmed. If you are weighing the spend against the career payoff, the ROI analysis and the salary guide are the next stops.

The Clocks That Matter: Retakes, Validity Windows and Renewal

Several timers start running once you begin, and mismanaging them is the most common way candidates lose time.

  1. Written retake wait: If you do not pass the written exam, you must wait 14 days before retaking it. Build that gap into any deadline you are working against, such as a job posting that prefers certification.
  2. Written pass validity: A written pass is valid for two years.
  3. Practical result validity: A practical result is valid for one year.
  4. Renewal cycle: Once certified, the credential renews every five years with 80 continuing education hours (CEHs), at least 25% of which must come from volunteer, leadership or competition activity, plus required refreshers.

A qualifying, continuously maintained ACF membership waives the renewal fee, which is another reason membership timing is worth sorting out early rather than treating it as an afterthought.

Key Takeaway

Write the one-year practical window and two-year written window at the top of your plan. Whichever part you pass first sets the deadline for the other, and a missed window means repeating work you already passed.

Sequencing Your Prep Around the Written Blueprint

Because there is no fixed test calendar, you can choose your own date, and the smartest way to choose is to work backward from how long it will take you to cover the written blueprint. The six domains are weighted unevenly, and two of them carry a quarter of the exam each. A short, CEPC-specific schedule beats a generic one, so here is how the weights suggest you allocate your time.

Domain 4: Production Guideline Development (25%)

Tied for the heaviest weight. The recovered official table gives no subordinate topic list for this domain, so there is no published subtopic inventory to memorize. Plan to study it as a functional area of production management and confirm scope through the handbook and ACF.

Domain 6: Business Management (25%)

The other 25% domain, covering Supervision, Administration, and Ethics, Legal and Professionalism. Candidates with a strong bench-skills background often underinvest here, which is a risk given its weight.

Domain 3: Specialty Pastry, Desserts and Advanced Baking Techniques (20%)

Covers gateaux, tortes, entremets, petits fours glacé and traditional cakes; special occasion cakes; chocolates, confections and sugar work; plated desserts; dessert presentation; and bread, viennoiserie and other yeast products.

Domains 1, 2 and 5 (10% each)

Baking Basics covers yeast products, quick breads, pies, cookies, cake batters, formulas and conversion factors, measurement tools and equipment. Pastry Fundamentals covers pastry doughs and batters; creams, custards, mousses, sauces and frozen desserts; and meringues, buttercreams, icings and glazes. Safety and Sanitation has no published subtopic list in the recovered table.

For a full walkthrough of each content area, see our CEPC exam domains guide.

A Blueprint-Driven Study Order

Block 1

Front-load the 25% domains

  • Start with Business Management (supervision, administration, ethics and legal) since it is easy to neglect
  • Work through Production Guideline Development with the handbook as your scope reference
Block 2

Cover the 20% specialty domain

  • Rotate through cakes, confections and sugar work, plated desserts and viennoiserie
Block 3

Close out the 10% domains and drill math

  • Practice formulas and conversion factors with a basic calculator
  • Review Pastry Fundamentals, Baking Basics and Safety and Sanitation
  • Take timed 100-question sets to rehearse the 90-minute pace

That ordering is a suggestion, not a requirement. For a broader plan, our CEPC study guide goes deeper, and you can run timed drills on the practice test site to find your weak domains before you book a proctor.

Confirm the Written Passing Score Before Test Day

This is the one place where the published information genuinely conflicts, and it affects how you judge your readiness. The CEPC handbook indexed pages state a written passing score of 72. The general ACF score page, by contrast, gives 300 on a 200-400 scale and still retains legacy testing-provider references. The two sources have different scopes, and the conflict is unresolved in the material reviewed here.

Do not convert 72 into a 300-scale number, do not read 300 as a percentage, and do not assume either figure is the confirmed live cut score. Ask ACF which standard applies to your specific CEPC written exam before you rely on a target. Our CEPC passing score article covers the discrepancy in more detail. The practical standard is separate and clearer: a 75% average.

Pass-rate caution: A current CEPC pass rate is not publicly disclosed. Historical bulletin figures exist, including 25.0% written in 2016 and 91.1% practical in 2019, but they carry date and denominator anomalies and should not be treated as current benchmarks. See our pass rate analysis for context.

A Practical Scheduling Checklist

Because the process is arrangement-driven rather than calendar-driven, the most useful thing you can do is work through the logistics in order.

  1. Confirm eligibility. Verify your five years of experience within ten, supervisory experience, education pathway, five 30-hour courses and refreshers.
  2. Check membership. Decide whether you will apply as a member ($250) or nonmember ($490) and plan accordingly.
  3. Request current handbook and procedures. The live PDF URL returned a 404 and the revision date is unknown, so get the current document from ACF.
  4. Clarify the written passing standard. Ask which cut score applies to your exam.
  5. Line up a proctor. The written exam needs an approved, present proctor and a PIN.
  6. Choose a practical site. Ask about host fees, the site's schedule and what the four hours will look like.
  7. Pick your sequence. Decide which part first, with the one-year practical and two-year written validity in mind.
  8. Build in a buffer. The 14-day written retake wait should sit inside, not outside, your deadline.

If you are earlier in the process and still deciding whether this credential fits your path, our overviews on what CEPC certification is and CEPC jobs are useful starting points, and the CEPC cheat sheet compresses the key facts onto a single page.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are there fixed CEPC exam dates or testing windows in 2026?

The public program information reviewed does not publish a fixed national calendar of testing windows. The written exam is delivered through the ACF Online Learning Center with an approved present proctor, and the practical is held at approved sites, so your date depends on arranging those. Confirm current availability with ACF.

How long is the CEPC written exam?

The indexed handbook pages specify 100 multiple-choice questions in 90 minutes. The split between scored and unscored questions is not established in the sources reviewed.

How long do I have to wait to retake the written exam?

The written retake waiting period is 14 days. A written pass stays valid for two years, so a retake wait rarely affects validity but should be built into any hiring or promotion deadline.

How long is a practical result valid?

Practical results are valid for one year, and passing requires a 75% average. Because that window is shorter than the written one, plan so you can complete the remaining part before it expires.

What does the CEPC cost, and are there extra fees?

The listed certification fee is $250 for members and $490 for nonmembers, and the initial application includes one practical attempt. Host fees are separate, and the all-in written and practical total is unverified, so ask ACF and your site host for a full picture before budgeting.

Ready to pass your CEPC exam?

Put this into practice with free CEPC questions across every exam domain.